Supplier sign in
Subscribe to our monthly newsletter.
Your email address will never be disclosed to any third party.
Read our privacy notice.


Industry news
07-11-2019  |  204x
Share this item

Winners of the 2019 CPhI Worldwide Annual Awards announced

13 outstanding winners unveiled in pharma's biggest celebration of innovation

Frankfurt, 06 November 2019: CPhI Worldwide, organised by Informa PLC, announce the winners of the prestigious 2019 CPhI Pharma Awards – celebrating the industry’s top innovators, performers and outstanding achievements across 13 categories, spanning the entire industry supply chain.

The prestigious ‘CEO of the Year’ award has been bestowed upon Dr. Ge Li, Founder, Chairman and CEO of WuXi AppTec who was chosen for his significant contribution to the global biopharma R&D industry. Under his leadership, WuXi AppTec has become a highly respected contributor to global healthcare innovation.

Cambrex was awarded the ‘API Development’ category for their Crystallisation Screening and Process Development Service. The service has bridged the gap between the bench and manufacturing plat, providing controlled, robust and scalable crystallization processes.

John Chiminski, Chair and CEO at Catalent Pharma Solutions, won the ‘Lifetime Achievement’ award for his accomplishments spanning more than three decades. These include the last 10 years at Catalent, during which time the company has become a true benchmark of advanced delivery technologies, development, and manufacturing solutions.

The ‘Formulation’ award was given to Nanoform for its controlled expansion of supercritical solutions (CESS®). Spraying Systems Co. / Fluid Air Inc. were bestowed with the ‘Manufacturing Technology and Equipment’ award for their PolarDry®’ – the Cooler Technology.

Univercells received the ‘Bioprocessing and Manufacturing’ award in recognition of its NevoLine PlatformTM, which is a bioproduction system for vaccines. The ‘Regulatory Procedures and Compliance’ prize was given to Merck Healthcare KGaA for ‘Project SARA’ (Smart Assistant for Regulatory Affairs).

The ‘Analysis, Testing, and Quality Control’ category was claimed by MedPharm for pioneering the regulatory approval of topical products using in vitro bioequivalence. MedPharm is the first contract research organisation to gain regulatory approval using in vitro models to demonstrate the bioequivalence of a generic formulation compared to the originator.

SCHOTT Pharmaceutical Systems and W.L. Gore & Associates received the ‘Packaging’ award for its syriQ BioPure® – a silicone-free syringe – whilst Hoffmann Neopac was highly commended for their STYLO Spatula applicator.

The winner of the ‘Pharma Service Company of the Year Award’ is Lonza Pharma & Biotech. The company is recognised for its integrated global services offering that spans the pharmaceutical, biotech, consumer health and specialty chemicals market.

In ‘Contract Services and Outsourcing’ Nanopharm Ltd – an Aptar pharma company – was selected as the winner for SmartTrack™. Finally, the award for ‘Drug Delivery and Devices’ was given to Phillips-Medisize for its Connected Health Platform, and the ‘Supply Chain, Logistics and Distribution’ category was given to Kemiex AG.

The complete list of winners can be found on the CPhI website.

Company information

Newsletter archive
Service and contact